Representative Gerald L. Brady, Chair (D)Senator Nicole Poore,Vice-Chair (D)
Representative Andria L. Bennett (D)Senator Brian G. Pettyjohn (R)
Representative Stephanie T. Bolden (D)Senator Bryant L. Richardson (R)
Representative Timothy D. Dukes (R)Senator David P. Sokola (D)
Representative Jeffrey N. Spiegelman (R)Senator Bryan J. Townsend (D)

What is Sunset?

Sunset is the periodic legislative review of agencies, commissions or boards. The purpose of the review is to determine whether or not there is a genuine public need for the agency and, if so, determine if the agency is effectively performing to meet that need. Typically, an agency, board or commission is reviewed once every seven years.

Who Guides the Sunset Process?

The Joint Sunset Committee (JSC) is responsible for guiding the sunset process. The JSC is a 10 member legislative body composed of 5 members of the Senate appointed by the President Pro Tempore; and 5 members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House. Assisting the JSC is a staff analyst who develops the reports used by the JSC to draw conclusions about the agencies under review.

Joint Sunset Committee (JSC)
Sunset Review Process Timeline